Doing business with DNREC during the coronavirus period. More Info logo

The Delaware Clean Vehicle Rebate Program

The Clean Vehicle Rebate Program provides incentives for Delawareans and Delaware businesses to buy or lease new alternative fuel vehicles.

The vehicle rebate program encourages the deployment of electric, natural gas, and propane-powered vehicles as part of Delaware’s commitment to innovation in the transportation sector, reducing greenhouse gases, and improving Delaware’s air quality.

The Delaware Clean Vehicle Rebate is not a tax credit. It is a cash rebate that must be applied for within 90 days of the vehicle’s purchase. The rebate is for vehicles purchased between Jan. 1, 2020 and Dec. 31, 2020.

The rebate program is for purchase of the following types of passenger vehicles:

  • Battery electric
  • Plug-in hybrid electric
  • Propane
  • Natural gas

For larger vehicles, visit the Heavy Duty Vehicle Program page.

Rebate Amounts

Type of Vehicle/Vehicle Technology Rebate
New Battery Electric Vehicles (including vehicles with gasoline range extenders)* $2,500
New Plug-in Hybrid Electric Vehicles* $1,000
New Dedicated Propane or Natural Gas Vehicles $1,500
New Bi-Fuel Propane or Natural Gas Vehicles $1,350

*Note: Purchase price cannot exceed $60,000. This does not include tax, tags, destination and document fees. It does include all added features and packages.

How to Apply

Follow the steps below to apply for your rebate.

Step 1:

Register as a “supplier” with the state of Delaware using the Division of Accounting eSupplier Portal. (Find more information in the New Supplier Registration Guide or view this instructional video)

Once your supplier file is approved, you will receive the Supplier ID number needed for your vehicle rebate application. If you need assistance, please contact the Supplier Maintenance Team at 302-526-5600. The Division of Climate, Coastal and Energy does not have access to the Supplier portal.

Step 2:

Put together your application package as one PDF file:

  • Complete the Clean Vehicle Rebate Application. The Supplier ID number must be included on your application.
  • Include proof of Delaware residency or operation (drivers license, military proof of service, business license).
  • Include a copy of the sales slip or lease agreement.

Step 3:

Send your application package in one PDF file to

Step 4:

Wait 8 to 10 weeks to receive your rebate.

Find a participating dealer from the list below. Purchase or lease (for at least 36 months) an eligible vehicle and the participating dealer will roll vehicle rebates into the purchase or lease of the vehicle. The dealer is required to show documentation of this.

Note: Under Delaware Law, Tesla does not qualify as a dealership. Tesla purchasers must use the individual application form in order to receive their rebate.

Dealers in New Castle County

AutoPort Inc.
203 Pigeon Point Rd, New Castle, DE 19720

AutoTeam Delaware
1606 Pennsylvania Ave, Wilmington, DE 19806

Bayshore Ford
4003 N Dupont Hwy, New Castle, DE 19720

Diver Chevrolet
2101 Pennsylvania Ave, Wilmington, DE 19806

Nucar Chevrolet
174 N Dupont Hwy, New Castle, DE 19720

Porter Ford
600 Ogletown Rd, Newark, DE 19711

Porter Nissan
303 E Cleveland Ave, Newark, DE 19711

Sheridan Nissan
114 S Dupont Hwy, New Castle, DE 19720

Sheridan Ford
4001 Kirkwood Hwy, Wilmington, DE 19808

Union Park BMW
1900 Pennsylvania Ave, Wilmington, DE 19806

Union Park Buick/GMC
1704 Pennsylvania Ave, Wilmington, DE 19806

Union Park Honda
1704 Pennsylvania Ave, Wilmington, DE 19806

Union Park Volvo
1704 Pennsylvania Ave, Wilmington, DE 19806

Dealers in Kent County

I.G. Burton
793 Bay Rd., Milford, DE 19963

Price Honda
4567 S Dupont Hwy, Dover, DE 19901

Willis Chevrolet Buick
2707 S DuPont Blvd, Smyrna, DE 19977

Willis Ford
15 N Dupont Blvd, Smyrna, DE 19977

Dealers in Sussex County

Boulevard Ford
40 Bridgeville Road, Georgetown, DE 19947

I.G. Burton Chevy of Seaford
24799 Sussex Hwy, Seaford, DE 19973

Lewes Automall
17861 Coastal Hwy, Lewes, DE 19958

Lakeshore Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram
22586 Sussex Highway, Seaford, DE 19973

Applications must be submitted within 90 days of the purchase or lease of the vehicle.

Applications for vehicles purchased before January 1, 2020 are no longer being accepted.

About Taxes

This rebate may be considered taxable income by the U.S. Internal Revenue Service and the Delaware Department of Revenue. It is the sole responsibility of the recipient, individually, to seek professional advice and determine the tax consequences of this rebate.