Saturday, May 21 is a Code Orange Air Quality Action Day for Delaware. More Info
A boating/fishing event permit from DNREC’s Fish and Wildlife Natural Resources Police is required for safety reasons when holding an event on the water.
Delaware State Law requires a permit from DNREC for boating/fishing events. The application below must be completed in its entirety and filed with the Department at least 30 days prior to holding the event (23 Del.C. §2120).
Operating a marine event without properly securing a permit from the Department may result in penalties (23 Del.C. §2125):
…Whoever violates any of the provisions of this chapter, except §§ 2113(e), 2116(b), (c), (d), (e) and (f), or any regulation promulgated thereunder, shall for the first offense be guilty of a class D environmental violation. For each subsequent like offense occurring within 12 months of a prior conviction, the person will be guilty of a class C environmental violation.
Submission of an application does not guarantee the event will be approved. Do not publicize or promote your event until you receive your notification of acceptance. The permit issued by the Natural Resources Police does not authorize the use of access/launching facilities. The appropriate contact for access/launching facilities is provided on our permit.
A fishing tournament/boating event, when conducted on State Parks lands and water, may require an entrance or admission fee. Contact information for the Division of Parks and Recreation is listed in the application form, below. The Division of Fish and Wildlife will not issue a permit if appropriate documentation of approval is not provided when holding an event on State Park lands.
Activities such as fundraising, concessions, or other public events are prohibited within Fish and Wildlife lands without a special permit from the Director of Fish and Wildlife.