Delaware.gov logo

Boiler Safety Commissions and Testing



The Boiler Safety Program requires anyone conducting jurisdictional inspections to have a current National Board of Boiler and Pressure Vessel Inspectors IS (In-Service) Commission and a Delaware Certificate of Competency.

Contact Us

Boiler Safety Program
302.395.2500

An applicant for a National Board Commission must be employed exclusively by an Authorized Inspection Agency, including the State of Delaware, an Owner-User Inspection Organization, a Non-Member Enforcement Agency, a Federal Inspection Agency, or the National Board of Boiler and Pressure Vessel Inspectors.

To obtain a Delaware Commission, applicants are required to hold a current National Board Commission and be at least one of the following:

  • Employed by the State of Delaware
  • An owner/user Inspector employed by a recognized Delaware Owner/User Agency
  • Employed by an Authorized Inspection Agency licensed to sell boiler and machinery insurance in the State of Delaware
  • An Inspector employed by a Non-traditional Inspection Agency accredited by NB-369 and recognized by the State of Delaware

National Board Commission Tests

National Board Commission Test Fees

Delaware Resident: $75

Non-Resident: $150

There are several locations where tests are administered depending on the number of people sitting for the test. Contact the Boiler Safety Program, at 302.395.2500, for location and directions for the test you want to take.

The test is given the first Wednesday and one-half day Thursday of March, June, September, and December in the various jurisdictions, or at the National Board headquarters in Columbus, Ohio. Requests for taking the test can be made to Boiler Safety prior to the 15th of the month before the next test.

There are educational and/or work experience requirements that must be met prior to taking the examination.

Delaware Certificate of Competency

Certificate of Competency Fee: $50

In addition to having a National Board Commission, an inspector is required to take and pass a Delaware test to obtain a Certificate of Competency from the DNREC Boiler Safety Program.

There are educational and/or work experience requirements that must be met prior to taking the examination.

The following requirements also must be met prior to taking the Delaware test:

  • Shall file a notarized application with the Director and pay the fee established by Boiler Safety.
  • Shall obtain a passing score of 70 percent on the validated examination for inspector.
  • Shall possess a valid, current commission issued by the National Board of Boiler and Pressure Vessel Inspectors.
  • Shall not have been the recipient of any administrative penalties regarding his or her inspection practices in any other state where he or she has held, or currently holds a commission. The applicant shall be responsible for providing proof of valid commission in all states where he or she holds or has held a commission as boiler inspector.

The Application for Examination must be notarized and accompanied by payment with a copy of the inspector’s National Board working card and commission certificate. Once this information is received by Boiler Safety the inspector is required to call 302.395.2500 to schedule a test date. Above information should be sent to: DNREC/Boiler Safety Program, 391 Lukens Drive, New Castle, DE 19720.

Related Topics:  , ,





+