Training and Certification

The Sediment and Stormwater Program provides several different training opportunities to help those involved in land development and construction projects meet the requirements of the Delaware Sediment and Stormwater Regulations. Note: During the pandemic, training is offered via video conference platforms.

Contact Us

Bonnie Arvay
Sediment and Stormwater Program

Contractor Training Program

Under the Delaware Sediment and Stormwater Regulations, each active construction site must have a “responsible person,” certified through the Contractor Training Program, to provide daily oversight throughout construction.

The training program, formerly known as the Blue Card Course, includes an overview of the Sediment and Stormwater Program, of the regulations and of required erosion and sediment control measures in Delaware.

The Sediment and Stormwater Program has created an on-demand, online version of the Contractor Training Program. The materials presented in the in-person course have been adapted to interactive online modules.

The Contractor Training Program costs $65. Links to the training can be found on the Delaware Learning Center Self-registration page.

Participants will need to log-in to the Delaware Learning Center using their existing Delaware Learning Center account or create a new account.

For information, email or call 302-739-9921.

Certified Construction Reviewer Course

CCR Training Course Schedule (2021)

The 16 training hours are offered on Wednesday mornings in March (March 10, 17, 24 and 31).

Four afternoon field trip opportunities are offered on March 17 and 24, one upstate and one downstate each day.

2021 CCR Course Announcement and Registration

A Certified Construction Reviewer (CCR) is a private inspector of sediment and stormwater controls hired by a developer when required by the plan approval agency. The CCR course offers detailed information on sediment control and stormwater management practices for those who wish to qualify as Certified Construction Reviewers under the Delaware Sediment and Stormwater Regulations.

The course will also benefit those in government, engineering, consulting, contracting or land development that work in the field of sediment and stormwater management. Certification is valid for five years.

The course is 16 training hours, spread over four half-day class sessions presented via a video conference platform, and a half-day field trip. It is mandatory for trainees to attend all sessions and the field trip, in their entirety, pass a written exam, and complete a construction site review report.

Registration is required and costs $225. Late fees may be applied after registration closes. Registration will open on Dec. 7, 2020. 2021 CCR Course Announcement and Registration

Class size is limited to 100 participants, with a maximum of 25 participants per field trip location. Registration is limited to two participants per company.

For information, email or call 302-739-9921.

CCR Recertification

CCR Recertification Schedule

The training dates for 2020 have passed. 2021 dates will be announced here.

The Certified Construction Reviewer (CCR) recertification is an 8-hr course for CCRs whose certification will expire or has expired in the current year and who would like to continue their certification. This eight-hour course highlights changes in the Sediment and Stormwater Program and Regulations, along with newer approaches to stormwater management.

CCRs eligible for recertification will be notified by DNREC’s Division of Watershed Stewardship; however, those individuals must register to attend. There are no reserved spots for classes.

The course is offered as two half-day class sessions, presented via a video conference platform. Trainees must attend both sessions, in their entirety, and pass an exam.

Registration is required and is limited to those contacted by the Sediment and Stormwater program. This training is $90 and registration packets are sent to eligible attendees several months prior to scheduled training dates.

CCRs and Blue Card holders must provide and maintain current email addresses. The Program is not responsible for certifications that expire if an individual cannot be reached by email.

CCRs should email with questions or to update contact information, including email addresses.

Designer Training

The Sediment and Stormwater Program offers a two-day Designer Training course for those who prepare plans and engineering computations under the Sediment and Stormwater Regulations. Designer Training is not a certification program. There is no cost to attend.

There are no Designer Training courses scheduled at this time. Courses will be announced via the monthly Sediment and Stormwater email newsletter. Send a blank email to subscribe.

Weather Closures and Delays

Weather delays will not affect class schedules. Classes will be cancelled only when state offices in Kent County are closed due to weather conditions or declaration of a state of emergency.

State office closures are announced on the Dept. of Human Resources website.

In the event of a cancellation, registered attendees should report on the next scheduled class day.